Skip links and keyboard navigation

Supreme Court

The Supreme Court is the highest court in Queensland and includes the trial division and the Court of Appeal.

The trial division hears the most serious criminal cases including murder, manslaughter and serious drug offences. A jury is used to decide whether the defendant is guilty or not guilty.

The division also hears all civil matters involving amounts of more than $750,000. A jury may be used to decide these disputes.

The Court of Appeal hears appeals from the District and Supreme Courts, and from many tribunals. A dissatisfied party in either a civil or criminal case can seek an appeal, that is, a review of the court’s decision or the sentence imposed.

Court of Appeal decisions are made by a panel of three to five Supreme Court judges.

Supreme Courts are located in Brisbane, Bundaberg, Cairns, Longreach, Mackay, Maryborough, Mount Isa, Rockhampton, Roma, Toowoomba and Townsville. Judges also travel throughout Queensland to hear matters in regional and remote areas.

Judges of the Supreme Court

See also

September 2016
  • Land Court wins award
Queensland Land Court Reports
  • Volume 35 - Now available
Last reviewed
22 June 2011
Last updated
3 August 2016

Rate this page

  1. How useful was the information on this page?

Close window

Send this page to a friend