Skip links and keyboard navigation


The Queensland Courts include:

These courts hear both civil and criminal cases. Civil cases are disputes between two or more parties (people or organisations) where one party sues the other, usually to obtain compensation for some harm that has been done or loss that has been sustained. These disputes may involve anything from defamation to outstanding debts and dog bites.

Criminal cases involve offences against the broader community and can range from littering to murder.

Magistrates Courts can hear cases in 131 locations throughout the state including:

  • 59 courthouses
  • 19 Queensland Government Agent Program (QGAP) centres (Department of Justice and Attorney-General as lead agent)
  • one Department of Natural Resources and Water office (delivering Department of Justice and Attorney-General services)
  • 43 police stations where police assistant clerks of the court deliver court services
  • five Indigenous communities.

The Supreme and District Courts sit in 11 and 32 locations respectively.

Judges also travel regularly throughout the state to hear cases in regional towns and remote areas.

Last reviewed
21 June 2011
Last updated
28 March 2012

Rate this page

  1. How useful was the information on this page?

Close window

Send this page to a friend