Magistrates Courts

Practice Direction No. 2 of 2020

Court Arrangements (COVID-19)

- Magistrates Courts across Queensland are open and hearing cases. This
 Practice Direction positions the Court to respond to the evolving situation.
 Arrangements are being put in place to respond to COVID-19 to ensure the
 spread of the infection is limited as far as possible and to continue to provide
 Court services to the Queensland community.
- From Monday, 23 March 2020 Courts in Column 1 (of the below schedule) will hear matters in accordance with local guidelines issued by a Regional Coordinating Magistrate until directed by a Regional Coordinator Magistrate that matters will be heard from a nominated Court in Column 2.
- 3. The Regional Coordinating Magistrates are:

Brisbane Deputy Chief Magistrate Brassington

IpswichMagistrate MacCallumGold CoastMagistrate PhilipsonSunshine CoastMagistrate CallaghanRockhamptonMagistrate PressTownsvilleMagistrate MackCairnsMagistrate Pinder

- 4. Each Regional Coordinating Magistrate will issue a Guideline for their Region incorporating local arrangements for their Region.
- Subject to any legislative provisions, where a Guideline issued by the Regional Coordinating Magistrate is inconsistent with the provisions of a previous Practice Direction, then the Guideline shall apply until such time as it is amended or revoked.
- 6. Local Guidelines may be amended and reissued by the Regional Coordinating Magistrate as the need arises.

SCHEDULE 1

SCHEDULE 1	
Column 1	Column 2
Original courts	Alternative courts
Brisbane District	Brisbane Central
Cleveland	
Holland Park	
Longreach District	
Pine Rivers	
Redcliffe District	
Richlands	
Sandgate	
Wynnum	
Cairns District	Cairns
Cooktown District	Brisbane Central
Innisfail District	
Thursday Island District	
Townsville District	Townsville
Charters Towers District	Brisbane Central
Cloncurry District	
Hughenden District	
Mount Isa District	
Rockhampton District	Rockhampton
Bowen District	Mackay
Bundaberg District	Brisbane Central
Clermont District	
Emerald District	
Gladstone District	
Mackay District	
Maroochydore District	Maroochydore
Caboolture	Caboolture
Gympie District	Kingaroy
Hervey Bay District	Brisbane Central
Kingaroy District	
Maryborough District	
Gold Coast District	Southport
Beenleigh District	Beenleigh
	Brisbane Central
Ipswich District	Ipswich
Beaudesert District	Toowoomba
Charleville District	Brisbane Central Division
Cunnamulla District	
Dalby District	
Goondiwindi District	
Roma District	
Stanthorpe District	
Toowoomba District	
Warwick District	
	1

Judge Terry Gardiner Chief Magistrate 18 March 2020